The October 5, 2020 MMTC meeting (7 pm via Zoom), featured the principals of all K-12 Mira Mesa Cluster Schools speaking about their schools. In addition, we had brief presentations from both mayoral candidates, Todd Gloria and Barbara Bry.

Here is the presentation given by the school principals.

Some things change, some stay the same. Although the 2020-21 school year has a dramatically different framework, with all San Diego Unified schools starting the year via distance education, the Mira Mesa Town Council is continuing its tradition of hosting a “Schools Night” featuring principals of K-12 schools in Mira Mesa as the main program at its October meeting.

This year the meeting takes place via Zoom and Facebook Live on Monday, October 5, 2020, at 7pm. The meeting was also broadcast on Facebook Live on the MMTC Facebook page.

All 10 principals in the Mira Mesa Cluster of Mira Mesa High and its feeder schools confirmed their participation. Principals scheduled to attend included:

  • Darius Ashton, Ericson Elementary School
  • Lindsay Burningham, Sandburg Elementary School (new to school in 2020-21)
  • Deidre Hardson, Jonas Salk Elementary School
  • Jesse Harrison, Mason Elementary School
  • James Lee, Hage Elementary School
  • Tobie Pace, Hickman Elementary School
  • Justin Phillips, Walker Elementary School
  • Matthew Fallon, Wangenheim Middle School
  • Erik Sullivan, Challenger Middle School (new to school in 2020-21)
  • Jeffrey Sabins, Mira Mesa High School

In addition, principals of Good Shepherd Catholic School and Christ the Cornerstone Lutheran School, two longtime private schools in Mira Mesa, were invited to be part of the program.

Each of the principals speak for about 3-4 minutes, sharing “something special” about themselves, their schools, students and parents, as well as any upcoming special programs this school year. Principals were asked to also share any tips they may have about how their school communities have been coping with the pandemic.

Video of the meeting is online at